• I - Falling into Darkness
  • II - The Darkness Consumes
  • III - Darkness Unleashed
  • IV - A Galaxy in Darkness
  • Star Wars: Darkness Unleashed - Reviewed by Inyri

    As I finally got this uploaded and ready to roll, I had this sudden urge to rewatch part of the video, which in turn delayed the release. Sorry for that. stick out tongue

    Full-length fan films are rare, because they take a lot of dedicate and most importantly a lot of time. We're truly blessed when we receive legitimate full-length fan films, and I'd say we're definitely doubly blessed to receive this one. The trailers that were released, while good, did not do the final product justice (which is a nice change!). Darkness Unleashed brings us the tale of a dark Jedi who has lost his one true love and is out for revenge. Perhaps it sounds clichéd, but continue to watch. As I mentioned to someone earlier, it's not the basic plot that makes or breaks a film, it's the details. Beat the same storyline to death, but add in the extra something and you'll have yourself a film that's not only enjoyable, but unique.

    Now that I've said that, I'll do a complete 180 and claim that the plot of this video is not only not clichéd, but is in fact rather original. If I were to be silly and boil it down to one sentence it sure sounds boring, doesn't it? But when I tell you there's an amazing swoop chase, a hectic space battle, a ridiculously awesome saber and Force duel, and a few severed stormies, it sounds a lot more appealing, doesn't it? This film not only features some great content, but the filming, editing, soundtrack, and effects are all top notch. Both Jedi Academy and Empire at War are used seamlessly to create a full story. The character are all voiced (pretty decently, might I add) and the words "I can't do that" never seemed to cross anyone's mind -- I'm sure you'll all be as stunned, shocked, and pleasantly surprised as I was by some of the effects portrayed here! I'm pretty sure I saw some green screening...

    Our hero, or should I say anti-hero, curiously tugged at my heart strings (despite being a vile Sith with his heart set on revenge), which is the sign of a well-written character. There really is very little that's lacking here, with the exception perhaps of the game's engine and animations (but let's not blame the author for that!). I certainly can not emphasize enough how great a film this is, so please just cough up the bandwidth and check it out for yourself. I sincerely doubt you'll be disappointed.

    Now that I've spent all evening uploading this thing... I'm going to go watch it again! Enjoy. smile

    ~Inyri

    Size: 219.45 MB
    Developer: Darth Angelus
    Downloads: 2497
    Date Added: 11-28-2007
    Type / Category: Media > Video
    Average User Rating: 8.1
    Number of Votes: 40

    Comments:

    #1 - first post :D - Posted by: Ceane_Cilias (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 00:55
    if only my game would work, i would be the first to download it. . .Cry

     #2 - Posted by: InyriForge (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 01:08
    It's a video.

     #3 - Posted by: Ice_06 (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 02:21
    Actually, it is a video that won't work.

    And yeah, I DO have quicktime player.

    Shame really..

     #4 - Posted by: Jedi_Mediator (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 04:22
    Wow. If it gets a review like THAT from INYRI, well...I suppose there's just no comparison! stick out tongue

     #5 - Posted by: Ravagerlord (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 05:04
    Very nice video, i enjoyed every second watching it!
    Perfection no doubt!

    10/10

     #6 - Posted by: Cloud_3 (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 07:06
    #3 maybe its just you... i dont got quicktime and it works for me

     #7 - Posted by: Yzmo (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 08:26
    Geez.. uh.. 200+mb..eek!

     #8 - loved it - Posted by: omegacloud (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 08:44
    incredible work, thanks so much for it

     #9 - Wow, Good Vid! - Posted by: Robban5000 (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 10:12
    This one Rocks! Rock 10/10 MAKE MORE : D : D : D

     #10 - Posted by: EliteBongo (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 10:33
    n1 10/10 very nice smileTwo Thumbs Up!Rock

     #11 - Posted by: Wundai (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 11:07
    #4 Sigh.. stop turning Inyri into a Female Goddess, what if she gets used to it wink

     #12 - Posted by: InyriForge (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 11:46
    He must've just been referring to how cranky I usually am. frown

     #13 - Posted by: NAB622 (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 12:09
    Cranky...lol, I don't blame you, with all the stupid things that happen here (I know I've done my share.)

    I'm very interested in the video, so I'm downloading and will watch it when I get back home. If you spent all that time making a film this long, I'm SURE you made it worth it. And I bet you'll get file of the week next week, too. GREAT JOB for sticking with a video for that long, until completion!

     #14 - Posted by: MJarry (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 12:27
    Omg! Please make more! big grin
    big grin 10/10 big grin

     #15 - @ #11 - Posted by: The_Last_Istari (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 12:33
    Is there a such thing as a male Goddess? stick out tongue

     #16 - Posted by: the_darker_one (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 14:04
    Finaly the video is up! I waited and I wasnt expecting it today. CheersBeer! Beer!

     #17 - Posted by: the_darker_one (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 14:42
    BTW, what map is at 18:30? The scripts are awsome!

     #18 - Posted by: Jedi_Mediator (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 15:06
    lol, #15 stick out tongue

    @ #11 I do it because I think she's already used to it wink


    I didn't say nothin', Inyri!!

     #19 - Posted by: edudej2 (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 15:09
    people that are having troble playing this video get vlc player it plays anything you through at it.

     #20 - Posted by: msc204x (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 15:10
    hmm very interesting. although that the story for this was a bit short, it is interesting. i give this a 9/10. that 1 scene with the 2 jedi fighting in that fog was a bit...............confusing. and most of the saber fights were WAY too short. but oh well nice job can't wait for the final movie. wink Two Thumbs Up!

     #21 - Posted by: RevanJOM (Member) on 11-28-2007 at 19:45
    Dang. My quicktime lags like hell. Do they have .wmv versions? Meh. Actually, I guess I can make it .wmv myself. I got the tools...cause for some reason my quicktime skips a couple or more seconds each time through the movie.


    VERY awesome movie though. I love this! Very very kickass machinima. big grin One of the absolute best on JA and EaW (plus Homeworld: Warlords mod from the other two) Rock

     #22 - #17 - Posted by: Lord_Infernus (Member) on 11-29-2007 at 00:02
    Map is Fearis Incident;

    http://jediknight3.filefront.com/file/Fearis_Incident;26775

     #23 - Posted by: Wundai (Member) on 11-29-2007 at 08:05
    #15 Oh damn, can't talk myself out of this I guess stick out tongue

     #24 - Posted by: B3n (Member) on 11-29-2007 at 19:05
    I have only two complaints.

    1. The main villan was kind of a pushover at the end duel. He seemed to have been built up as having "don't **** with him"-level power, but instead he just gets wasted without seeming to put up much of a fight.

    2. There's no way such a small fleet could even bring down the shields of an Executor-class Dreadnought.

    That's all.

     #25 - Posted by: 1ShotDoctor (Member) on 11-30-2007 at 09:53
    Well, I loved it. I havent seen any of your other films but after this one, I'll make sure to go back and watch them all. The camera angles were perfect, the story flowed smoothly. You've managed to hide the clunkyness of the jka engine.

    The guy with the goatee that Mara first talked to after the meeting was my favorite. So calm and collected. Whoever voiced him did a great job.

    10/10

     #26 - Posted by: 1ShotDoctor (Member) on 11-30-2007 at 09:55
    Sorry to double post.

    I forgot to say:

    The swoop chase...wow. Felt very authentic. Guy in lava ftw.

     #27 - Posted by: Demon007 (Member) on 11-30-2007 at 12:31
    You did a great job with the three videos you uploaded. Excellent work, Darth Angelus.

    I give you a 10/10, because I haven't seen better videos than this one. Waiting for the fourth one. smile

    Keep up the good work!!! Two Thumbs Up!

     #28 - Posted by: Darth_andorMaster_Venaris (Member) on 12-01-2007 at 16:29
    GAH! NOT WORKING! SAYS IT"S CORRUPT! Just like when I tried to download Jurancor park. Damn this lousy PC! I I'm never gonna get to do these things. And now I can't try to download again until next weekend! Gah!

     #29 - Posted by: NumberWan (Member) on 12-03-2007 at 06:10
    Music suits nice in the scenes. btw in DU there are some tracks not included in Ep III disc =( I wonder where the author managed to get those (they were only in Episode III itself)

     #30 - The amount of time and... - Posted by: RhVaurek (Member) on 12-03-2007 at 06:56
    Effort put into this shows it really does, I tip my hat to you all and I hope there is a next one coming. 10/10 I cannot give anymore than that unfortunately big grin

    Great fight scenes at the end btw both in and outside the star destroyer.

     #31 - Hmm - Posted by: Sakks (Member) on 12-03-2007 at 09:21
    Nice movie, I'll give it a 9/10.
    By the way, what is the map called the use for Bridge on the Star Destroyer/Star Crusier?

     #32 - Posted by: danieljackson222 (Member) on 12-03-2007 at 20:30
    I'm downloading it now, but it looks incredible! cool

     #33 - Posted by: dynablade223 (Member) on 12-04-2007 at 12:08
    very nice vid. The camera angles were perfect but i think you could try to get some clearer voices, i barely heard what the sith said at all. And all the ''ending'' points were a little choppy, as in the first sith apprentice falling down into the lava without even screaming and the sith lord who died in a walk-over class.

    further notes: you could have added scenes of people dying on that planet.


    gratz from dynablade223 Frogga!

     #34 - hmm.. - Posted by: TwistaUK (Member) on 12-05-2007 at 12:47
    The voices are pretty bad tbh....the sith apprentice sounds like a constapated fish.
    Okay video nothing special , but the time and effort i give an 8/10
    6/10 overall , not bad. smile

     #35 - no sound - Posted by: bleeding_mascara (Member) on 12-07-2007 at 21:28
    it has no sound. does that meen ONLY quicktime player?

     #36 - Posted by: bleeding_mascara (Member) on 12-07-2007 at 22:08
    o wait i've got quicktime player and works good with sound...good movieBeer! Beer!

     #37 - Awesome - Posted by: sithJculley (Member) on 12-08-2007 at 14:45
    Hey, been a while since I commented on something, I always check in on this site, but thanks for using some of my maps there, its a very impressive bit of work. nice 1!

     #38 - Posted by: Howitz (Member) on 12-08-2007 at 23:15
    i can tell alot of effort was put into it,but i found it boring.the one before this i had to turn off after 2 minutes it was so boring,this 1 was much better

     #39 - Posted by: Omegamatt (Member) on 12-11-2007 at 00:44
    The scene of Delius after the Executor-class blows up; is that EAW footage? If not, what map is it?

     #40 - Posted by: bleeding_mascara (Member) on 12-14-2007 at 23:48
    hey what is the best program to use wen ur doing this stuff?

     #41 - Posted by: jinxfifty (Member) on 07-19-2008 at 09:37

    this is my favorite one smile

    awesome movie

     

    The film was downloaded 2497 times before the site shut down.

    Cast

    Damien Valentine
    Elizabeth Cameron
    Charlie Allen
    David Houston
    Ingrid Moon
    Lani Minella
    Michelle Ann
    Phil Rice
    Rebecca McCarthy
    Richard Grove

    And more...

    Links

    Bathtub Productions

    Forums

    Atom Films

    Facebook

    YouTube

    Viddler

    Vimeo

    The Death of Jar Jar

    New Republic 5th Fleet

     

    Created by Bathtub Productions
    See also: The Death of Jar Jar